Thousand Cankers Disease Reappears in Maryland

walnut twig beetle (Pityophthorus juglandis)

Contributor: Dr. Ramesh R. Pokharel, Plant Disease Specialist, Maryland Department of Agriculture, Ramesh.pokharel@maryland.gov ANNAPOLIS, MD (August, 2019) – Thousand cankers disease (TCD) is a complex problem in walnuts, Juglans spp., caused by the fungus Geosmithia morbida and transmitted by walnut twig beetle (WTB), Pityophthorus juglandis. The beetles tunnel under tree bark and introduce the fungus, […]

Continue reading


Preventing Invaders

1412341820726 643x410

Contact: James Young, Plant Protection and Quarantine, USDA APHIS | Jim.D.Young@aphis.usda.gov Matt Travis, MD State Plant Health Director, USDA APHIS | Matthew.A.Travis@aphis.usda.gov ANNAPOLIS, MD (December 1, 2015) – Exotic species are in the news almost daily. They can be found in our parks and even in our own backyards. Sadly, many of them are so […]

Continue reading


White Nose Syndrome

Little Brown Bat

White Nose Syndrome Fungus – Pseudogymnoascus destructans* Contact: Dana Limpert, Conservation Specialist, MD Department of Natural Resources Wildlife and Heritage Service | DanaL.LIMPERT@maryland.gov ANNAPOLIS, MD (February 1, 2015) – White nose syndrome (WNS or PD, Pseudogymnoascus destructans*) was first confirmed in Maryland bat overwintering hibernacula in 2010. The disease has been documented in all major […]

Continue reading


Thousand Cankers Disease

TCD 2

Contacts: Dave Clement, University of Maryland Extension | clement@umd.edu Karen Rane, University of Maryland Plant Diagnostic Lab | rane@umd.edu ANNAPOLIS, MD (December 10, 2014) – Thousand cankers disease (TCD) is a disease complex first discovered in the western United States that primarily affects black walnut (Juglans nigra). This disease is the result of the combined […]

Continue reading


Chronic Wasting Disease

Chronic Wasting Disease Map

Brian Eyler | Maryland DNR | beyler@dnr.state.md.us ANNAPOLIS, MD (January 1, 2013) – Chronic wasting disease (CWD) is one of several diseases classified as transmissible spongiform encephalopathies, or TSE’s. Scrapie in sheep, mad cow disease (BSE), and variant Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease (vCJD) in humans, are also TSE’s. While humans can contract vCJD from eating BSE-infected beef, […]

Continue reading